The Pain of Love

One of my short stories… images-6

Ade and I were lovers in high school. We didn’t talk much in the view of others, we tried to hide it from our friends, but some how they  new something was happening. I didn’t have anything other than the basic things in life. Even some of the most basic items, I lacked but it was not a problem with Ade. Ade came from a very wealthy home but I refrained from taking things from him. He wanted to give me anything I needed but I felt it was out of place to take things from a school mate like my self.  I didn’t encourage it so Ade limited it just to my birthdates.

I loved reading, he loved reading as well. We agreed on so many things. I wanted to study Medicine and he wanted to study Law.  We worked hard  at at passing our SSCE examinations and we came out in flying colours. It was time to go to higher institution…whao.. We were both excited. Luckily, we got admitted in to the same Higher Institution. Note that by this time our parents were already aware of the chemistry between the two of us. While my parents respected my decision regarding Ade, his parents didn’t regard his intention  to marry me. They were totally against his decision. We had grown to love each other deeply. We never got intimate, it  was a decent and pure love relationship. Ade and I often discussed the issue and also prayed that His parents change their minds but things grew worse. Hmnn…

All through his years on campus, we stayed faithful to each other, of course we had several disagreements but not to the extent that we ever thought to break up at any point. We were seriously in love. To cut a long story short,  when it was time for us to settle down in a marital relationship,  his parents still stood vehemently against the union. Ade thought of eloping with me but I insisted we would never do that. Their reasons were based on social status and more. Sadly we had to end several years of relationship. It was indeed painful and we were both terribly affected. However we needed to move on…

Ade couldn’t bear it, he relocated to another country just so he could get over me and I carried on with my life and profession. Note I was still a virgin and  I believed Ade was still a Virgin too.  We vowed to wait for each other. #Parents…( hmmmm… Sometimes it’s unfair how they mislead their children unknowingly just because of selfishness and pride.) No man appealed to me. I couldn’t speak for Ade but I knew he wasn’t doing too well. He tried to contact me but I blocked all means of communication because it was like toture to me. I didn’t need it at all. Six months down the line, I got a call from  an unknown number. Lo and behold it was Adesanya’s father, my heart skipped. “Why would this man want to see me urgently”, I said to myself.

I went that weekend to see him. It wasn’t a pleasant news. Ade had been involved in a car crash and his life was on  the line. I wept bitterly. I felt pained. “How did it happen.?” I asked amidst tears but the old man couldn’t say anything. His wife had already gone ahead but Ade requested my presence to see me for the last time incase he died. Just like that the man who fought tooth and nail to stop me from marrying his son filed for a USA visa application for me and just like that in a matter of weeks I was on my way to Los Angeles, Carlifonia.

To again cut it short, I met my Ade and could barely recognise him. Ade had suffered minor spinal cord injuries and there were lots of complications and as a doctor I knew what was on ground.  Our worst fear was if Ade would ever father a child because they ran several tests which revealed certain hidden health issues. Despite the state of things, I didn’t lose hope, I prayed nights and days, I believed for the love of my life… To the Glory of God he got a bit better and could finally speak well but couldn’t walk and was bed ridden few weeks after my arrival.

I was planning to return to base.., Ade begged me to stay back. I told him I needed to go and would be back to check on him. At that point, he brought out a beautiful gold ring,  took my left hand and in the midst of tears he said…”OreOluwa, will you please marry me?” I withdrew my hand from his hands quickly, tears rolling  down my cheek… I shook my head and said “Ade please stop this…this is not the time for this” I was still speaking when his parents walked into his room in the hospital and right there and then, having observed what was happening, the mother went down on her knees begging me to say yes to their son. The same son they never wanted me to marry, they treated me like garbage. They despised me and my parents but now they want me to carry this cross for them, with several uncertainties… I was lost for words… His father kept quiet all through.

Well what do you think? Should I say yes to Adesanya? My first and only love. I didn’t give them any answer but I whispered to Adesanya’s ear…”I will be back my love”. I left for the airport and straight to base. My parents were shocked at everything thing that happened. Guess what? They refused and said they would never allow me to carry such liability. I prayed, I cried, I waited on God and when I got a clear  sense of direction, I made my mind up. My parents couldn’t stop me, as usual they respected and gave their blessings.

I kept in touch with Ade. I went back to the USA, Ade and I got married right there in the hospital. He exchanged vows with me on his hospital bed in serious pains. It was tough. This cross was heavy but I carried it for love.. He had surgeries and after several months on admission he was discharged.  To the Glory of God Ade healed up speedily… Five years down  the line it was total history what we both had been through.  Fifteen years down the line we had a set of twins… The Lord turned our mess in to a great message.

For Ade and I it’s  been a rare kind of love. Still in love, living totally for Jesus. He did it all. Who says no when God says yes? HIS WORDS ARE LAW.

THE THINGS THAT ARE IMPOSSIBLE WITH MEN ARE POSSIBLE WITH GOD.  Ade can walk and he is a father despite all odds. I am His wife,  we rose above the storms, God’s grace pulled us through and here we are today giving thanks. Glory be to God Almighty. Jesus is Lord forever…

Copyright  Olubukola Adediran 2017. (FICTION.)

Image courtesy of Danny World.

Leave a Reply

